Documentation complaint: Getting started is HARD!

Posted by PhilF on 21-May-2018 08:46

This is a long-ish post, intended to document the issues I came across so that perhaps they might be addressed.  You don't need to read the whole thing to get the idea, which is:  If I were looking at Progress and PDSOE as a development platform, I would probably give up on it fairly quickly, after concluding that the product lacks polish and good documentation, and probably doesn't work too well.

My environment is Windows 10, Progress 11.7.3 64-bit.  I'm an experienced developer, and I've been using Progress for decades-- so if I can't make it through the sample code then something is probably wrong.  It's not that Progress doesn't have a lot of documentation -- it certainly does, and much of it is excellent.  But I keep getting stuck trying to find it, or to make my way through it.

Most of my work over the years has been in a character environment.  I've learned enough of Studio, PAS and other "new" technology to be slightly dangerous.  But there is a lot of meat to these tools, and a lot of options that I simply don't understand.  I thought it was time to learn the tools in depth, and being a good developer I turned to the documentation.

The first thing I thought I would do was look at some of the sample code.  Handily enough, PDSOE includes a variety of samples.  AutoEdge|TheFactory sounds like a good place to start.  Nope:  it requires Savvion BPM components, and I don't have those.

Well, maybe I'm starting in the wrong place.  Let me try reading the documentation.  Ah, here we go:  "Getting Started:  Introducing the Progress Developer Studio for OpenEdge Visual Designer."  Perfect.  Till I get about half-way through the first chapter.

"Note: OpenEdge Ultra requires the installation of OpenEdge® Ultra Controls for .NET, which is an optional product. OpenEdge Ultra is required if you want to complete the exercises in this manual."