Restoring progress database

Posted by Ghulam Qadir on 30-Nov-2016 08:44

Hi

I am new to progress openedge technology. I have some .d one .df and one .st file. I have installed a classroom version to my pc. How do i restore the files in my progress environment?

So the files are an export from another progress environment.

thanks 

Posted by Matt Baker on 30-Nov-2016 08:58

The basic flow (without all the variants and details).

The .st file is a "database structure file".  It contains database file layout.  You use prostrct command line tool with this file to create the database structure.  Something like "prostrct create <.st file>".  You *MIGHT* need to edit the .st file with your favorite text editor to make sure the paths are correct.  Its a fairly simply format.  If you need help search on the communities site documentation for the file layout.

Once you have used prostrct to create the database using the .st file, start your database server using "proserve <database name>".

Then start the progress database administration tool (see the start menu or run "prowin <database name> -p _dict.p". (or use prowin32 if you are using 32 bit install). And connect to the database (you're prompted to on startup of the tool, or pick connect from the menu).

The .df file is the database schema file. It contains the tables/fields/indexes/sequences and such that define the database schema.  Once you have your database connected, select tools->database administration and then find the 'load data definitions' from the menu and load the .df file.

The .d files are basic text data files that contain database data.  From database administration tool find the "load table contents" and load all the .d files.

All Replies

Posted by Brian K. Maher on 30-Nov-2016 08:48

What are the contents of the .st file?

Posted by Matt Baker on 30-Nov-2016 08:58

The basic flow (without all the variants and details).