Rest Services with Classic Appserver (OE 11.5)

Posted by SteveSaltDanwood on 08-Jun-2016 04:45

Hi all,

Our environment: OE 11.5.1 Enterprise DB running on Linux 64 bit, with Classic Appserver, and OE Dev Studio 11.5 running on Win 10 64 Bit.

From the the outset, I have little (no) experience with ReST, other than a quick play around in my Dev env, and watching some of the educational videos on YouTube.

We don't have PASOE as part of our toolset, but I've seen on a video that you can create the WAR file for the Classic Appserver. What I've been asked is whether it is possible for us to create/expose a ReST service for our customers (including authentication), but also for us to access 3rd party ReST services directly (specifically, those provided by ServiceNow )?

If this is possible, is there any documentation on how to achieve this, including testing/deploying to the Classic Appserver?

Regards,

Steve Salt

Application Developer

Posted by Ricardo Perdigao on 08-Jun-2016 10:47

Hi Steve,

I strongly suggest that you upgrade your Windows PDSOE to 11.6 SP2 before you even start. With that said:

On this workshop/video below, I show you step-by-step how to configure and expose things as REST on OE 11.5:

community.progress.com/.../2568.a-sexy-ui-for-progress-openedge-using-jsdo-oe-mobile-template-and-kendo-ui-with-sorting-filtering-and-paging

It does use the "Pacific Appserver", but all you need to do is select the traditional Appserver when creating the project.  You would select Restmgr1 and Restbroker1  instead of Oepas1 during the project creation wizard.  All other steps (with the exception that now you have to start 2 processes instead of just one) should be the same.

Please give a try and let me know if you can move forward,

Regards,

Ricardo Perdigao

All Replies

Posted by Peter Judge on 08-Jun-2016 07:52