how to connect to progress database using proxygen generated

Posted by Admin on 03-May-2007 07:08

I am a newbie to various progress softwares and OpenEdge platform.

I am using Progress 9.1e RDBMS. I have a basic helloworld kind of .p file for which I have .r file. I give this .r file as input to proxygen tool and generated the proxy java code. Using these proxy java code I wrote a small standalone java program like below:

import com.progress.open4gl.ConnectException;

import com.progress.open4gl.Open4GLException;

import com.progress.open4gl.SystemErrorException;

import com.progress.open4gl.StringHolder;

import sets.*;

public class GetUserProxyNonPersistent

{

public static void main(String[] args) throws java.lang.InterruptedException

{

try

{

GetUserNonPersistent getUserNonPersistent =

new GetUserNonPersistent("jdbc:jdbcprogress:T:tri2:2312:PM3","scott","tiger","");

StringHolder UserNameHolder = new StringHolder();

getUserNonPersistent.getUserName("rod", UserNameHolder);

String UserName = UserNameHolder.getStringValue();

System.out.println("User Name is"+UserName);

} catch (ConnectException e) {

e.printStackTrace();

} catch (SystemErrorException e) {

e.printStackTrace();

} catch (Open4GLException e) {

e.printStackTrace();

}

}

}

}

In the above program I am struck at this below line:

GetUserNonPersistent getUserNonPersistent = new GetUserNonPersistent("jdbc:jdbcprogress:T:tri2:2312:PM3","scott","tiger","");

I am not sure what value to pass as first argument to the GetUserNonPersistent constructor. The progress proxygen related documentation says that we

have to pass a application server url as the arguement but I am not aware of any application server concepts in progress. Is it required

to setup an application server for using the proxygen generated code or can we do without it?

Can anyone please suggest? Hope I am clear in my questions presentation otherwise please let me know.

All Replies

Posted by jtownsen on 03-May-2007 10:41