Server Specifications

Posted by relgert on 10-Jul-2007 08:27

We are running Progress 9.1C18, and want to upgrade our server. Can someone point me to where I can get configuration recommendations and such

All Replies

Posted by Thomas Mercer-Hursh on 10-Jul-2007 10:58

The first recommendation is to upgrade to a more modern version of Progress.

You aren't going to find a fixed checklist, but if you tell us about your requirements, I am sure that several people will pipe up with their recommendations.

Posted by relgert on 10-Jul-2007 11:58

Well upgrading to a newer version is out of the question. We would have to upgrade our ERP program (Syteline) and that is not an option. (We are shopping for a new package).

Need new server for better performance, db size is about 10 GBytes, 200 users

I am new to Progress (6 months) and need someinput on server configuration

Posted by adaltas on 10-Jul-2007 17:24

Is the material here helpful?

http://www.psdn.com/library/entry!default.jspa?categoryID=1165&externalID=3233&fromSearchPage=true

Posted by Alon Blich on 10-Jul-2007 18:10

Just saying but you could upgrade to the latest version 9, version 9.1E and without having to recompile ... 99.9% you could just upgrade and go.

Of course someone (your vendor) won't like that and it'll probably violate your warranty. Just saying, not something I'd do.

I'd say get a consultant to have a look around ... so you wouldn't have to make any wrong and very expensive decisions.

Changing your hardware might not even make a difference or a substantial difference depending on the problem.

Hardware, database structure, badly designed code are a huge wildcard, what's the last time you've done a dump and load ? etc.

One such guru that comes to mind http://www.greenfieldtech.com/

Any specific performance issues you're having ? just to get the conversation started.

Posted by ChUIMonster on 12-Jul-2007 06:32

Thanks Alon!