Database performance

Posted by Admin on 23-Apr-2008 20:02

Hi, let me first off apologize if this is in the wrong section.

Ok so i have a problema nd dunno where to start, ive searched around these forums for about an hour and havnt found what i need so far.

Basically im having serious issues with my server/database performance and i dunno where to start looking.

I have done a Progress DBA course and from that have established our database needs fixing (thats for our software developer to organise) but in the mean time, my server is going nuts and everything is going slow.

So where can i get some assistance on Server 2003 performance + Openedge?

An example of a question i have is..

On my server running Server 2003 Std Edition running Progress 9.1 my memory Pages/Sec over a 24 hour period is an average of 217.393. Im currently studying for MCSE 2003 and i read that an average over 20 is bad, is this true? can this be why our reports are so slow to generate? what can i do to speed up reporting?

Thanks in Advance

All Replies

Posted by jmls on 24-Apr-2008 01:37

we need a lot more information than you have provided. What sort of disks do you have ? What is the memory size ? CPU speed ?

Oh, you should also be upgrading to 10.1 at the very least. 9.1 is a old release.

Posted by Thomas Mercer-Hursh on 24-Apr-2008 11:13

In particular, you should include:

• The observed problem, not the metric, but the nature of the observed difficulties -- all the time, peaks of poor performance, non-responsiveness, individual processes which are slow, etc.

• Specifics of user count, DB size, layout, memory, etc.

• Startup parameters

• What you have already tried and what effect it had

• Figures from promon ... which tells you much more about what the DB is doing than any OS statistics. Note that 24 hour samples are generally meaningless unless you are a 24 hour shop. Much better to take a number of 5 or 10 minute samples at various times in the day.