table row count

Posted by Admin on 17-Jun-2008 14:35

I have Openedge 10.0B05

I am new to the Progress world but I know Oralce and MS SQL. With that said, what is the best way to get a row count back from a table in Progress? I have tried

SELECT Count(*)
FROM pub.pick
WHERE (co_num='63') AND (wh_num='063')

but that takes over 15 minutes. If I remove the where clause it takes even longer. Are row counts on tables always slow? I am doing this through access & ODBC

All Replies

Posted by Thomas Mercer-Hursh on 17-Jun-2008 15:01

Depends entirely on the indexing of the table. If you are essentially doing full table scans, there isn't much that SQL can do to help you.

Posted by Admin on 17-Jun-2008 15:12

Here is the issue I have, if I have a MS SQL table and run a count in 3.5 million rows it comes back as soon as the execute button is pushed (no index on the table)

In Progress, if I have 450k rows, it can take 20 minutes.

Is there a better way to get row counts back?

Posted by Thomas Mercer-Hursh on 17-Jun-2008 15:55

SELECT COUNT(*) tends to be one of the faster methods. One suspects that this is not an equivalent test. I.e., same box, equivalent tuning, etc.

In particular, if you have a nice high -B on the database, the first count may not be fast, but subsequent ones will be very fast because the data is in memory.

Posted by Admin on 18-Jun-2008 07:21

different boxes...yes, but neither is a dog. They are both production boxes. It worries me that a simple table count, with no filter, is a query that won't return in under 20 minutes. Is there anybody than can test this on their system to see how long a simple takes. I am new to progress and have nothing to compare it against. If any body can test it and let me know how many records and how long it would be very much appreciated

select count(*)
from XXXX

Posted by Tim Kuehn on 18-Jun-2008 07:31

Posted by bwerne on 18-Jun-2008 10:02