Date / Time Format?

Posted by Admin on 29-Jul-2008 19:55

Hi,

I don’t know much about Progress, I’m a C# developer and all the backend stuff for this app is Progress. We have Progress guys here and, they’ve no idea what could be causing this issue I have.

This app is run in Canada and we’ve written the front-end code to display all date / times in the format of whatever the PC is running. The “what’s the PC want to display” thing works everywhere on the planet (and is probably working here to) but, I’m wondering if anyone has ever heard is this problem.

90% of this app is a header datagrid, double-click a row, display a detail datagrid set-up. At this location I’m having a problem with, the detail datagrids are coming up blank and a search by date returns no results.

The closest I’ve come to reproducing the issue in the office is to set the PC to display a 2 digit year and to treat 2 digit years as 1900s.

Problem with that is they are using 4 digit years.

We checked the startup.pf file and it’s configured the same way as our test servers (we can’t dial in and check on their stuff, its a serious pain).

So, has anyone ever hear of a server reformatting a set date / time format in between front-end and back-end? Is that even possible?

I don’t want to go to Canada.

Thank you.

J

All Replies

Posted by Thomas Mercer-Hursh on 29-Jul-2008 20:11

Four thoughts:

1) What is the -d parameter at each site?

2) What is the -yy parameter at each site?

3) You are aware that in the code, dates are always dmy, regardless of the display setting?

4) If your issue is differences between client and server, then what about parameter setting differences between the two?

Note that if there is no -d or -yy parameter being set at process startup, these might be set in startup.pf in $DLC as install defaults.

Besides, it can be fun to visit Canada ... depending on what part and the time of year!

Posted by Admin on 29-Jul-2008 20:20

Hi,