Webspeed - Debugging HTML files

Posted by Admin on 21-May-2009 14:19

Hello Progress Community,

I am a newbie to Progress Webspeed. I am strongly feeling the need of a debugger that could make my life easier. I have gone through the Application debugger that comes with Open Edge, but I am not sure if I can use this debugger to debug my HTML files. I have speedscript code into the HTML file and would like my debugger to keep a watch on the variables that are mentioned in the file.

When I open AppBuilder I can see "Debug" option into the Compile menu tab - but it's grayed out (disabled). I have gone through some debugging documents provided on the progress website, but they do not talk about debugging HTML files or how to configure the debugger in order to do so.

Your help is much appreciated and thanks in advance.

Regards,

JT

All Replies

Posted by kevin_saunders on 22-May-2009 03:35

You don't say what version of Progress you are using which is always important.

I would suggest you read the document: OpenEdge Application Server: Developing WebSpeed Applications, specifically chapter 9: Debugging applications.

Posted by Admin on 22-May-2009 10:06

Hello Kevin,

Thanks for replying to my question. I went through the chapter that you have mentioned in the thread post. I am coming from the .NET/Java world and there we simply put breakpoints (in HTML, .java, .c); and add a watch to variables that we want to inquire about. After going through the chapter, it seems like there's no concept of using breakpoints for the webspeed files. And instead we use message along with IF CAN-DO (debug-options, "something") to see the results in the server.log file.

But one thing bothers me is that we have a debugger provided by Progress that works perfectly for .p files and we can use breakpoints to pause the execution and watch variables step-by-step. If that could work, why can't we debug HTML files with embedded speedscript and put breakpoints using AppBuilder tool.