Progress database table has lower case data in it. Is there

Posted by kthras on 15-Nov-2010 10:22

Data was submitted by users to update 2 tables in our database.  The data was submitted in excel and a short program was written to update the data in the tables with the data from the excel form.  However, the programmer who wrote the code didn't take into account the case (and he's since left the company) and now we have some fields in 2 tables with lower case data when they should be upper case.

Is there a Progress tool, function, keyword that allows you to change the data in the table to upper case?  I don't see anything on the help and I'm new to Progress 4GL.

Thanks!

All Replies

Posted by Admin on 15-Nov-2010 10:30

You may check the UPPER function.

If you just need to display the values in uppercased, us a character format like "!(8)".

Posted by kthras on 15-Nov-2010 10:34

Thanks for responding so quickly!!  Unfortunately, we need the data to be stored in the table in upper-case so we need to convert it.  It's not a display issue for us.  I appreciate the info!

Posted by Admin on 15-Nov-2010 10:40

ASSIGN Table.Field = UPPER (Table.Field).

Posted by kthras on 15-Nov-2010 10:50

Thanks!  I thought you meant to user UPPER to display the values in upper case.  Sorry I misunderstood your first answer.

Posted by Thomas Mercer-Hursh on 15-Nov-2010 10:55

You are aware that Progress is case-insensitve by default so the case in which it is stored does not affect indexing, comparison tests, etc?  The only reason to car is for display ... and except for things like part numbers, where people seem to be stuck with upper case, all upper case is rather old fashioned and dates from when there weren't enough bits in a byte to show lower case letters.

Posted by kthras on 15-Nov-2010 11:17