New and first time connection with ODBC

Posted by Mark.Ward on 30-Sep-2010 14:21

I have to build a client in .NET that will connect to OpenEdge 10.1b.  I am new to OpenEdge and I am using the sports2000 database to learn how to get connected.  I think I have the database and ODBC data source setup correctly.  In short I am getting the following error when I try to execute "select * from customer" from my .NET code using OdbcCommand class via an OdbcConnection.

"ERROR [42502][DataDirect][ODBC Progress OpenEdge Wire Protocol driver][OPENEDGE]Table/View/Synonym not found (7519)"I have no idea how to approach to resolve this problem.  I only have the OpenEdge Workgroup.

Using the data dictionary I made a new database from the sports2000 into a new folder.

I have setup the database using the Progress Explorer Tool.  I used the default configuration and pointed it to the new database I created.

I have setup the Service name or port number to be 3005

I have created my ODBC data source and the connection tested and passed.

In my C# code when trying to query the customer table i get the above error and I have not found a solution to the error yet.

Any ideas what I am not doing correctly in the query or not have setup correctly?

All Replies

Posted by Admin on 30-Sep-2010 14:31

following error when I try to execute "select * from customer" from my .NET code using OdbcCommand class via an OdbcConnection.

"ERROR [DataDirect][ODBC Progress OpenEdge Wire Protocol driver][OPENEDGE]Table/View/Synonym not found (7519)"I have no idea how to approach to resolve this problem.  I only have the OpenEdge Workgroup.

Try

select * from PUB.customer;

ABL accessible tables are represented via SQL92 in the PUB schema.

Posted by Mark.Ward on 30-Sep-2010 14:32

Yes, the "PUB" is what I was missing. How do you find what schema a table is under and can there be more than one schema in a progress database?

Posted by Admin on 30-Sep-2010 14:36