Openedge ABL code to call SSRS web service to render a repor

Posted by tgagnon on 18-Jul-2013 09:03

Hello everyone,

I have a project that I'm working on which requires a web service call to Microsoft SSRS (SQL Server Reporting Servcies)  2008 R2.

I have been able to sucessfully:

1. Read the SSRS WSDL using the bprowsdldoc tool

2. Connect and Authenticate to the SSRS web service

3. Make calls to the web service methods where I provide values for all the parameters

However, I need to call one of the methods: LoadReport (see below) in which I need to omit or pass a null value for the HistoryID parameter.

DEFINE VARIABLE Report AS CHARACTER NO-UNDO.
DEFINE VARIABLE HistoryID AS CHARACTER NO-UNDO.
DEFINE VARIABLE executionInfo AS LONGCHAR NO-UNDO.

RUN LoadReport IN hReportExecutionServiceSoap(INPUT Report, INPUT HistoryID, OUTPUT executionInfo).

I am new to working with web services and XML in Progress and I have run into an issue with calling this method.

I am trying to find the proper syntax to send a NULL value for an optional parameter or omit the parameter.  In Visual Basic, I would just pass a NULL for the parameter, but I can't seem to find the Progress syntax for this.

I have tried sending all kinds of different values including the ? (Unknown) value.  When I use the ? (unknown value).  I receive an error 11790 message: "The SOAP parameter will not accept an UNKNOWN 4GL parameter value".

Has anyone sucessfully created ABL code to call the SSRS web service to render a report?

If so, would you be able to share the proper syntax for calling the LoadReport method?

Thank you,

Terry

All Replies

Posted by Peter Judge on 18-Jul-2013 09:13

I do something like the below to write out null values.

mhSaxWriter:start-element('CorticonRequest').

mhSaxWriter:declare-namespace('http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance', 'xsi').

mhSaxWriter:start-element(hField:xml-node-name).

if hField:buffer-value eq ? then