How to rename/delete a Shared Picklist?

Posted by cohezive on 31-Mar-2015 11:52

I added a shared picklist in an application and now need to either rename it or delete it.  I am not seeing anywhere to do that.  I would have assumed it would be an option in Setup somewhere, but apparently not.   

Posted by Godfrey Sorita on 03-Apr-2015 12:28
Renaming of shared picklists is currently a limitation of the platform. You can file an enhancement request by posting a thread in the ideas section of the community (https://community.progress.com/community_groups/products_enhancements/i/rollbase/default.aspx).

Also, you can delete the shared picklist by deleting all the picklists linked to it.

All Replies

Posted by pvorobie on 31-Mar-2015 12:43

Picklist (shared source or not) is a field, so you can edit/delete it as any other field.

Posted by cohezive on 31-Mar-2015 14:54

Not true.  Once the shared picklist is created it operates in all field definitions by its integration name - which is NOT editable.   Yes, I can edit the Display Name and the picklist values, but the Shared Picklist name is not available for edit.

I can appreciate that this capability should be limited - but not non-existent.  Once a shared picklist is created, there is no documented way to delete it  (it's apparently a permanent addition to an application/tenant).

So, if I make a typo in the name or the term needs to be modified to match an organization's terminology or glossary, this is not possible. 

Posted by Godfrey Sorita on 03-Apr-2015 12:28
Renaming of shared picklists is currently a limitation of the platform. You can file an enhancement request by posting a thread in the ideas section of the community (https://community.progress.com/community_groups/products_enhancements/i/rollbase/default.aspx).

Also, you can delete the shared picklist by deleting all the picklists linked to it.
This thread is closed