Relationship Query

Posted by rgoyal@test.com on 03-Nov-2014 00:25

I would like to know how we can query object and related object in a single query. I'm new to Rollbase.

ex: rbf_selectQuery("SELECT id,name, R11XX FROM bXXX b, 100, callback1); // where R11XX is the relationship name of other object. 

I'm looking to construct a query which will also show values from other related objects.

Can anyone help. Thanks in advance.

All Replies

Posted by IramK on 03-Nov-2014 03:21

Use rbf_selectValue() using your Query.

Posted by rgoyal@test.com on 03-Nov-2014 03:31

Hi Iramk. Thanks for the reply.

But my query may return multiple records and I need to process all records so I couldn't use this rbf_selectValue() method.

Posted by Orchid Corpin on 03-Nov-2014 08:29

Hi,

To get the related object's fields you can use rbf_getFields. If the record has multiple child you can use Loop_begin / loop_end if it is only one child then you use directly the rbf_getFields with the id of your related record.

<script>
/*
	Assumes you are in the parent objects view page
	R56036   - > this is the related field
	product1 - > will be the object name of R56036
*/
'{!#LOOP_BEGIN.R56036}'
	rbf_getFields("product1", parseInt("{!id}"), "name, product_code, unit_price", function(relName, objId, values) {
		console.log(values['name']);
		console.log(values['product_code']);
		console.log(values['unit_price']);
	});
'{!#LOOP_END.R56036}'
</script>

Hope this may help.

Regards,

Orchid

Posted by rgoyal@test.com on 03-Nov-2014 09:16

Thank Orchid.

What I'm looking for is to show many to many relationship over the portal page. So for this we may need to query all the parents ids and then we would fetch the related child records.

In your previous example we are processing child records from the object view page but I was looking for such useful stuffs over the portal pages.

Can you assist?

Thanks,

Rohit

Posted by Orchid Corpin on 03-Nov-2014 09:45