Tutorial? How to fetch with FTP and call a webservice...

Posted by Admin on 27-Jan-2010 07:07

Hi,

I am totally new to Progress Sonic ESB and currently struggling with Workbench.

I would like to achieve the following:

- A file is retrieved at regular intervals from an FTP server
- The file is checked on format (EDI, CSV, etc.) and converted to xml accordingly.
- The file is transformed to a format (EnvelopeHolder) that can be serialized by my webservice
- The file is routed to operation "InsertEnvelopes"
- The LogiGate webservice is called with the file's XML content as SOAP parameter

Are there any good tutorials to help me on my way? Or is there anyone that could get me a kickstart?

Thanks in advance,

Fedor Steeman

All Replies

Posted by l4ky on 27-Jan-2010 21:46

- A file is retrieved at regular intervals from an FTP server
I think u can use filepickup which pooling to the FTP server.
- The file is checked on format (EDI, CSV, etc.) and converted to xml accordingly.
For this u can solve it by
1. create a custom service type, in purpose for converting to XML.
2. Or create a route step and a process for each conversions.

Thank's
Uq

Posted by Admin on 28-Jan-2010 04:25

All right, thank you.

Question: How do I get FilePickup to Fetch from an FTP server. I can see one can only specify local directories?

Thanks in advance,

Fedor Steeman

Posted by Admin on 28-Jan-2010 07:02
Posted by Bill Wood on 28-Jan-2010 07:10

The Sample that most matches is the Sample.B2RT.  You can find more in the Eclipse Help in the Tutorial Section

Progress Sonic ESB Product Family: Developer's Guide > Progress Sonic ESB Samples and Tutorials > Batch to Real-time tutorial

(It is available online at: http://communities.progress.com/infocenter/index.jsp?topic=/com.sonicsw.doc/ESB/tutorials/b2rt.htm)

Posted by Admin on 28-Jan-2010 08:19

Nah... No mention of FTP fetch...

Posted by Admin on 28-Jan-2010 08:24