Fault Handling in Sonic 8.0(.1)

Posted by sedge on 13-Jan-2011 18:21

I am new to Sonic (noit familiar with 7.x) and I am trying to understand Fault Handling. I understand the concept of the layered fauilt handling provided by Sonic 8.0 but some of the detail of how to use Fault Handlers well still eludes me. Can anyone help out with references or examples for:

- Best Practises (Specific to Fault Handling in Sonic 8.0)

- How to locate and use Fault information in a Fault Handler

- How do use Fault Handlers with Sonic Connect (Both Web Services and Clients).

Our application needs to be quite Fault Tolerant and not just shunt messages off to the RME (Although I'm sure the RME will have it's place).

Thanks

Steve

All Replies

Posted by mnair on 13-Jan-2011 19:20

Hi Steve,

1. An entire chapter (6) is devoted to fault handling in the "Sonic Workbench: ESB Developer's Guide" at:

http://documentation.progress.com/output/Sonic/8.0.1/Docs8.0/online_help/esb_dev.pdf

You will find references to fault handler samples in here.

2. Also check the 'RESTful Services Guide' and the 'Web Services Guide' for some details on the use of fault handling with Sonic Connect. You can access all these from:

http://documentation.progress.com/output/Sonic/8.0.1/Docs8.0.htm

3. While making REST/WS invocations you can define a fault handler on the step or the process or at the appropriate level in any of the parent processes in the call hierarchy. In the case of WS a fault is generated by SC when it receives a SOAP Fault. In the case of REST any message with HTTP response code greater than 300 is treated as a fault.

If you are exposing then make use of the Fault step in the ESB process.