connecting to Sonic ESB 7.6 from Maximo 7.1 or WebSphere 6.1

Posted by JasonUppenborn on 04-Nov-2010 06:50

Hello,

I am new to Sonic ESB and JMS, so please pardon me if my questions are a bit on the simple side. However, I'm happy to be directed to documentation or to provide further information about Maximo. I have been searching for a few hours and not found anything useful, which is why I am posting here.

I need to connect to Sonic ESB 7.6 from Maximo 7.1. It seems to me that I may be able to connect directly, or I may be able to connect via WebSphere Application Server 6.1. I prefer to connect directly for simplicity's sake. So, assuming the direct approach:

Maximo has the ability to work with JMS end points. When I try to set one up, it asks for a connection factory JNDI name and a context factory. What values or types of values do I need to give? Also, I'm assuming that I'll need to include some jar files in my class path. What are they, and where can I find them?

Thank you for any assistance you can provide.

Best regards,

Jason Uppenborn

All Replies

Posted by sk185050 on 04-Nov-2010 07:00

Look for some sonic samples related to the Jndi connection like JNDIChat. You will get all the information.

java.naming.provider.url   = ''
          java.naming.factory.initial = com.sonicsw.jndi.mfcontext.MFContextFactory
          com.sonicsw.jndi.mfcontext.secondaryProviderURL = tcp://localhost:8080"
          com.sonicsw.jndi.mfcontext.connectTimeout=120000
          com.sonicsw.jndi.mfcontext.tryBackupOnFailure=true
          com.naming.security.principal=user
          com.naming.security.credentials=pass
          com.sonicsw.jndi.mfcontext.idleTimeout= 60000

Posted by Bill Wood on 06-Nov-2010 03:04

The one thing you want to make sure of is that you use the env variable for the domain.  You need this is the domain is not named the default "Domain1,  as a side note, in Sonic 8.0, you can add this to the connection URL.