OE on SANs with dynamic storage using EMC VNX

Posted by conroypt on 22-Jun-2016 05:08

Anyone got any experience of deploying OE on a SAN which dynamically allocates disks? SSD, SAS, and SAS near line storage all available, and data is dynamically stored in relation to how it is accessed. The data more often used is moved to SSD drives where it can be accessed quicker. The software is an EMC VNX on VMware.

This means that allocating BI and AI files across different volumes is not possible unless separate LUNS are assigned for them and while I am no expert in this area I am told that solution is messy. I am also told there is a mixed RAID solution in this and RAID 5 may be in use but I have not found out if this is the case or where it would kick in.

The application is experiencing performance problems when the user count increases and several DB tuning, software improvements and some infrastructure (upping DB server RAM, changing SAN disk provisioning from thin to thick) issues are being implemented/considered. 

I am wondering if the EMC VNX solution might be causing problems and if dedicated disks with full mirroring would be a better solution.

All Replies

Posted by ChUIMonster on 22-Jun-2016 08:16

In the modern HW environment from a performance perspective SAN storage is pretty much always inferior to internal disks.  If performance is your goal then it is awfully hard to argue against internal SSD.  Which is also probably cheaper.