progress 8 -> openedge 10.1 compiler looks for classes?

Posted by steven.post on 24-Sep-2008 07:50

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Progress and OpenEdge, but now I'm working on my first big project. Upgrading an application from Progress 8(originally 6) to OpenEdge 10.1c.

There are some fill-in fields in a GUI that have the same name as database fields, such as customer.customer. In progress 8, this doesn't pose a problem, but in OE10.1c the compiler gives an error:

Compiling someguiprocedure.w

Could not find source class file factuur\factuur.cls. (12625)

I found out that the error is situated when the customer.customer:screen-value is assigned in the code (using the assign keyword).

I managed to fix the following situation:

1) find something in DB

2) ASSIGN customer.customer:screen-value = customer.customer.

this is solved by using "display customer.customer with ."

But how do I fix the following assignment?

ASSIGN customer.customer:screen-value = somelocalvariable.

In boh cases of using the screen-value, the compiler complains about not finding the file customer/customer.cls (which of course doesn't exist as it's progress 8 code)

Any help is appreciated.

sincerely,

Steven

All Replies

Posted by Tim Kuehn on 24-Sep-2008 13:29

try using

customer.customer:screen-value in frame frame-name = somevariable.

or

frame frame-name customer.customer:screen-value = somevariable.

I one of those forms'll do what you want.

Strange about the complaint about the missing class though.

Posted by jtownsen on 24-Sep-2008 15:29

Another alternative could be to wrap a section of code with "DO WITH FRAME : ... END." This approach is handy if you've got lost of problem statements.

Posted by Admin on 24-Sep-2008 20:16

Extent you current workaround "display customer.customer with ." to fit the "somelocalvariable" exception, try

"display somelocalvariable @ customer.customer with ."