Documentation question about _actserver

Posted by dbeavon on 02-Dec-2018 19:50

I'm fairly new to running ABL code over client/server but this seems to be the direction that Progress is taking, given some of the database enhancements that they are focusing on in OE 12.  (And given the way PASOE seems to be so much better suited to running in it's own independent software tier).

I was trying to figure out how to troubleshoot slow remote servers, and came across the _actserver vst.  I had a couple quick questions about this documentation: https://documentation.progress.com/output/ua/OpenEdge_latest/index.html#page/dmadm%2Fserver-activity-(-actserver).html 

First of all, that link has a really unusual footnote that talks about temp-tables.  It seems totally off-topic and is probably just a documentation bug, right?

Secondly, I noticed a field called _Server-TimeSlice

_Server-TimeSlice
INT64
Number of query time slice switches

This is probably equivalent to the field in the OEE management console called "interrupts".  Can someone please confirm?

It strikes me that these "remote servers" can place an additional and somewhat artificial bottleneck between a remote client application and its data.  It forces arbitrary remote clients to permanently co-habitate with each other - insofar as the configuration has specified (by -Ma). This living arrangement might work out very unfavorably for one of the clients (eg. if an unresponsive and sluggish PASOE client, PASN, must share a server with a greedy batch processor that posts journal entries for the entire system).