PDSOE Novice

Posted by grolfe on 25-Aug-2017 13:25

I am new to PDSOE.  I am trying to follow the ProgressOpenEdge documentation at

Getting Started > Guide for New Developers > Creating your first ABL application > Creating a new AppServer project

I believe I have two issues:

1) I do not seem to be able to connect the sports2000 database.  I get various errors, one of which is "Progress session appears to be busy.  Database connection could not be tested".  Other times I get something like "port incorrect Connection failed ** Could not connect to server for database Sports2000, errno 0. (1432).  I am following the steps noted in the guide.   I have searched KB, but so far have not stumbled on the answer.

2) I also do not seem to be able to connect to the AppServer.  Did I not install correctly?

I am running on a development PC, Widnows 7, OpenEdge 11.5. I have used AppBuilder in the past, but have not done an AppServer development.

Thanks for any help/insight. 

All Replies

Posted by grolfe on 25-Aug-2017 14:04

Please note that I can connect to the Sports2000 using the Data Dictionary.  

Posted by Brian K. Maher on 31-Aug-2017 09:23

Please open a case with tech support.  We can screen share with you and figure this out.

Posted by sdobbey on 31-Aug-2017 09:28

Hi grolfe,

Here, the problem seems to be with sports2000 database in installation directory. Instead, try creating a new sports2000 database.

Here are the steps to create new database from PDSOE:

1. Go to menu Window -> Show View -> Other

2. Show View dialog box appears. Expand 'Progress DB Navigator' node and select 'Connections' option from it.

3. Connections view will be displayed.

4. Click on 'View menu' option in connections view (down arrow icon).

5. Select 'Create OpenEdge Database'.

6. Create Database dialog will be displayed. Browse to a location where you want to create database (ex: C:\DLCWORK\database) and provide database name as sports2000. Click save.