Seriously???!!!??? Strange OOABL behavior

Posted by PapaLee on 09-Jun-2017 23:03

OpenEdge 11.5.1 64 bit, Windows 10 and OpenEdge 10.2b AIX 64 bit

I'm a bit new to OOABL and I probably missed the memo, but can someone please explain just how in the sam ... this compiles (Sports2000 database):

using Progress.Lang.*.
class myClass:
   method public void method1():
      for each department
            no-lock:
         display
            customer.custNum.
      end.
   end method.
end class.

Of course there's a run time error. But is it unreasonable to expect the compile do it's job and not allow it before it gets to running?

I checked a normal .p and the compiler complains just like one would expect.

TIA

All Replies

Posted by Brian K. Maher on 10-Jun-2017 04:18

This does the same in 11.7.  It’s a bug.  Can you open a case with support so we can get this logged?

Posted by dbeavon on 10-Jun-2017 20:19

Are we sure it is a bug?  OE's OO classes have a number of oddities in the way that various data types are scoped.  It would be nice if the scope of some things like temp-tables and, in this case, buffers would be limited to the context of a method.  Unfortunately that is not the way classes work.  I'm told it is for legacy reasons. The scope of your buffers and temp tables is at the class level, like an instance member.

For example, I've often run into issues where a buffer will be moved with FIND in one method call, and then another nested method call will move the buffer again, so that when control returns to the outer method, the buffer is either lost or not on the same record as it was when the inner method was started.

Because buffers have class-level scopes instead of method-level scopes, it is possible that this behavior is by design.  The only way the compiler could easily tell that you didn't intend to actually use the customer buffer is if record buffers were scoped at the method level.

Posted by Mike Fechner on 10-Jun-2017 21:58