Server-side Validations - Business Entity / Data Object Serv

Posted by Matheus R. Mokwa on 15-Jan-2016 10:10

I'm studying PDSOE in 11.6 and I still didn't figure out how to implement validations on server side, got this few questions that could help me developing my sample project:

1) Where do I place the validations? Inside the class.method I'm working?

For exemple: Got a class with this method of Update.

2) Do I place it before or after the SUPER? (Is there anyplace where I can check the code of the businessEntity?)

3) How can I return the error? is it with the AppError? for example:

if table.name = '' then do:
   ASSIGN clsError = NEW AppError("name must be filled").
   RETURN ERROR clsError.
end.

4) And how do i cath/show this error in kendo grid?

All Replies

Posted by Peter Judge on 15-Jan-2016 11:26

1) Where do I place the validations? Inside the class.method I'm working?

The Business Entity is the right place to do data validation. Many people do validation in the BE and I know of some who have "validation providers"  that don't care about the BE but simply work on a set of data. What you use depends on your application design. I'd start with in-BE though, since its simplest.

2) Do I place it before or after the SUPER?

Depends on what you're trying to do/prevent. Validating BEFORE the super means that you do stuff before the standard behaviour kicks in. This is where I'd do most validations for updates.

Code after the SUPER means after the standard behaviour. For reads I'd add code here to do aggregrations or similar.

(Is there anyplace where I can check the code of the businessEntity?)

It's shipped in $DLC/src/OpenEdge.BusinessLogic.pl.  You will have to use a tool to extract the code from there (best tool for this kind of job is PCT IMO, but there are also standalone tools in the box in $DLC/src/extractpl.bat).

3) How can I return the error? is it with the AppError? for example: