Error handling with Telerik / openedge REST backend

Posted by papersoft on 19-Mar-2015 11:15

We've just begun to experiment with the Telerik UI connected to REST services on an appserver.  Almost every piece of the technology and terminology in this stack is new to me.  I have 17 years experience with ABL code, but every bit of that is in a character environment based on code that still runs against a version 9 database.  

For this experiment, I have a very simple template setup Business Entity with CRUD support.  My objective is to return and display (via JS alert) an application generated error message.  I'm currently using this mechanism on my appserver to cancel the transaction and return an error:

...UNDO, THROW NEW Progress.Lang.AppError("Department " + ttDepartment.DepartmentID + " already exists.").

Is this the way to handle application errors?  If so, how do I access the error text on the Telerik UI side?

Posted by egarcia on 20-Mar-2015 13:25

Hello,

I am glad to help on this.

The example that you are using is somewhat similar to the example KendoUIGridCRUD.html in the examples for the white paper.

The difference is than instead of having the code in "jsdoTransport.js", the transport code is in the "kendo.data.jsdo.js" file.

The change that you need to do is to update the code for onAfterSaveChanges to use request.batch.operations.

The change would look like the following:

jsdo.onAfterSaveChanges = function onAfterSaveChanges(jsdo, success, request) {
		var data;
		var record;
		if (success) {
			if (jsdo._callbacks._id) {
				record = jsdo.findById(jsdo._callbacks._id);
				if (record)
					data = record.data;
			}
			jsdo._callbacks.success(data);
		}
        else {
            var xhr, status, exception;

if (request.batch
                && request.batch.operations instanceof Array
                && request.batch.operations.length == 1) {
                    xhr = request.batch.operations[0].xhr;