Saving data in the database afterwards

Posted by delen on 17-Feb-2015 06:31

I am studying the possibility of recording data in the database afterwards.
I would want to know if it is possible to save the data in the database locally (due to network problems, AppServer or otherwise) and then update the database when the system is available again in simple way more or less automated.
Have you accomplished the same thing?

Thanks.

All Replies

Posted by Rob Fitzpatrick on 17-Feb-2015 08:39

You have left out a lot of information that might be useful for people who want to help you.  And frankly, your post is hard to understand.  For example: "I am studying the possibility of recording data in the database afterwards."  After what?  You didn't say.

You are describing your desired solution rather than your problem.  

What is your Progress version and you current architecture, and what problems are you experiencing?

Posted by delen on 17-Feb-2015 08:54

I experience no problem.

I would want to save data locally when a problem like network, appserver or otherwise problem occurs, so client data can't be write in database.

So when database access is available again, I am searching about software or programming to be able to update the database in simple more or less automated from data saved offside on client.

I contact Progress Software Support who advice me to post in this Community forum.

My Progress version is OE 11.1 client side on Windows Seven and Progress 11.0 server side on AIX.

Posted by Brian K. Maher on 17-Feb-2015 09:04

Hi Folks,

I suggested that this customer contact the communities site so he could gain the benefit of what other customers might do.

I have seen SonicMQ used for this sort of offline storage along with local copies of the database but since neither of those options are simple or automated as the customer wants I was hoping that others may join in with ways they have accomplished this.

Thanks,

Brian Maher
Technical Support