.NET DataGridView Custom Column

Posted by David Williams on 29-Dec-2014 08:32

Hi

I'm trying to create a custom column in a DataGridView by sub-classing the DataGridViewColumn and DataGridViewTextBoxCell classes. Can anyone please help me with a few issues that I've encountered?

I'm relatively new to this so started by replicating a VB/C# example I found online. But even when I reduce this to it's most basic -  a column and cell which just replicates the standard behaviour I still hit issues.

My code looks like this. The new cell:

CLASS DataGridViewBarGraphCell INHERITS System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewCell :

METHOD OVERRIDE PROTECTED VOID Paint( INPUT graphics AS System.Drawing.Graphics, 
                                          INPUT clipBounds AS System.Drawing.Rectangle, 
                                          INPUT cellBounds AS System.Drawing.Rectangle, 
                                          INPUT rowIndex AS INTEGER, 
                                          INPUT cellState AS System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewElementStates, 
                                          INPUT value0 AS System.Object, 
                                          INPUT formattedValue AS System.Object, 
                                          INPUT errorText AS CHARACTER, 
                                          INPUT cellStyle AS System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewCellStyle, 
                                          INPUT advancedBorderStyle AS System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewAdvancedBorderStyle, 
                                          INPUT paintParts AS System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewPaintParts ):

MESSAGE "In Paint" VIEW-AS ALERT-BOX.   

SUPER:Paint(INPUT graphics, 
                    INPUT clipBounds, 
                    INPUT cellBounds, 
                    INPUT rowIndex, 
                    INPUT cellState, 
                    INPUT value0, 
                    INPUT formattedValue, 
                    INPUT errorText,