connect to appserver over internet

Posted by bart.syryn on 06-Mar-2014 11:08

Hi, I'm pretty new in these things, but we're looking for deploying a SAAS application to our customers over the internet. So rent a server in a datacenter and use webclient and appserver technology to getting everything work. Now the question is, do you need AIA to accomplish this ? I've read that with AIA you communicate with the appserver over port 80 and the communication is HTTP. It seems that TCP/IP communication is faster, so is it possible to connect directly to the appserver. Is it correct that the port of the appserver should be open on the firewall (3090, 3091,...) ? How would the connection string be if we connect directly ? Why should we use AIA and not directly to the appserver ? Are there any perfomance issues ? Any hints would be helpfull. Kind regards, Bart Syryn

Posted by bart.syryn on 07-Mar-2014 00:58

Hi,

Thanks to all for replying.

I think we'll use the AIA with Tomcat. As this will be a SAAS application and we not exactly know who we'll be connecting in the furture, it will be a better security options. I just hope that this won't have a big performance impact.

Kind regards,

Bart Syryn

Posted by Jeff Ledbetter on 06-Mar-2014 11:18

Yes, you can connect direct or use the nameserver (both secure and non-secure for both).

Direct to AppServer:

{ AppServerDC: | AppServerDCS: }  [ //AppServer-host ]  [ :AppServer-port ] / [ AppService-name ]

Connecting through a NameServer:
{ AppServer: | AppServerS: }  [ //name-server-host ]  [ :name-server-port ] / [ AppService-name ]

Posted by Brian K. Maher on 06-Mar-2014 11:18

Hi Bart,

I can answer a couple of these...

>> do you need AIA to accomplish this ?

Not necessarily.

>> is it possible to connect directly to the appserver