How do I configure ODBC

Posted by Zev on 29-Jan-2014 15:27

Greetings Esteemed Members of the Forum!

I am new to Progress development, and please forgive me if I am asking a question that is too fundamental or if I am asking it in the wrong forum.

Basically, I was assigned to write a program that reads data in a Progress database. So I went to the Windows Control Panel, clicked on Administrative Tools, Data Sources, System DSN, Add.... And found a selection for Progress OpenEdge 10.2B Driver. I could not believe my good luck in finding this driver because I know from poking around the OpenEdge folder that this is the version that is installed!

But then I clicked "Finish" and I was presented with a dialog that asks me for a Data Source Name, Description, Host Name, Port Number, Database Name, and User ID. Here is where I got stuck. I figure that the Data Source Name I could make up, and the Description is optional, but what am I supposed to type in Host Name and Port Number? Where does one go to obtain this information? I will gladly purchase a book on the subject and read it if someone would recommend one. But for now, I am stuck!

Thanks for listening. Any help would be appreciated.

Zev

All Replies

Posted by Roberta Miller on 29-Jan-2014 16:24

Welcome to Progress, Zev!

You are correct, you found the right driver, and you can pick anything you want for the Data Source Name.