Unexpected CONNECT request in state-free mode

Posted by bharrison on 07-Oct-2013 11:28

I am trying to connect to an SSL secured web services for the EmpBasic objects contined within Epicor. I've gotten Progress setup successfully so the port is listening, but I keep getting the above errors. From what I gather, I need to set the type of state I will be using(state-less) on the client-side, but how can I do this since I am using web services?

Under my current object, I don't see any properties that will allow me to forcibly set a state-less connection.

Bruce

All Replies

Posted by Phillip Molly Malone on 08-Oct-2013 19:28

I am not an expert on the Epicor client, but can you access the webService via a browser? Have you tried to change the opposite side of the error (if you're seeing this error in the client, set the AppServer to State-less (if you think the client is expecting that defaultly) or if it is the server erroring, set the AppServer to State-free and see if that works?

HTH

Posted by bharrison on 09-Oct-2013 07:07

I can access the service file from my browser just fine, as well as adding it as a service reference within my VS2012 project. Intellisense is working, so I know the service is up and running. I should also mention this is a C# project.

The AppServer is currently running in 'state-less' mode since I plan on eventually accessing it via dynamic web applications, but for now I am simply creating a basic WinForms app to test functionality.

The following article describes the same problem is am having:

knowledgebase.progress.com/.../P40074

However the solution given is to set the sessionModel parameter to 'state-free'. None of the objects available from the webservices have this as a property, and I cannot for the life of me figure out how to set it!

This next article is for Java, and does not pertain to webservices. I assume there is some sort of property somewhere I can set similarly to what this guy did: