How to Organise Applications, Workspace, Projects... in the

Posted by Admin on 16-Jan-2007 07:03

Help!

I've been working with Progress for ~ 8 years now, but I'm new to the OE Architect, and need some advice in terms of setting up the Workspace(s) & Projects for Multiple Applications which currently make use of a shared code Folder.

We have Multiple v9 applications which make use of a shared code folder.

My initial thoughts would be to use the following organisation for each application...

Project-1 Client Side

Project-2 Include Files (Client & Server Side)

Project-3 Server Side ( Access to DB-a)

Project-4 Server Side ( Access to DB-a & DB-b)

Project-5 Shared Code

a) Does the above make sense?

b) Should each application have its own workspace?

With Shared Code as a seperate Project/Workspace?

c) How would I reference code from a different Project?

(E.g. How to reference Shared Code Project items?)

d) What's the BEST PRACTISE....?

I have posted a similair request for help on ProgressTalk, where the replies have not been so helpful (as yet), so sorry for the repetition, but with over 100 views of the call, it would seem that these are common questions with few documented answers out there...

Many thanks,

Ron

All Replies

Posted by Admin on 16-Jan-2007 08:58

Hi Ron,

I'll assume you've already read the other topic in here about projects. I'll also assume you're using 10.1B. I'm not going to suggest a single setup for you, but here are some additional things to consider. You have basically unlimited options based on how you prefer to work. Having a prescribed method within your company for every project may make supporting OEA easier. If all of your applications consist of server side, client side, include files and shared code then having a single way of doing things is a good thing.

Some things to consider.