Dynamic Queries and Indexes

Posted by Admin on 24-Aug-2006 17:24

Progress V10

I'm new to Progress: coming from MS-SQL environment and have a question regarding dynamic queries and indexes.

I've defined a dynamic query and prepare it with the following:

hQuery:QUERY-PREPARE("FOR EACH customer WHERE (customer.type = "foo") AND (customer.lastorderdate >= "01/01/2004" AND customer.lastorderdate <= "01/31/2004") ).

I've inherited a DB that has many, many indexes defined: one on customer.type, one on customer.lastorderdate, another on customer.typecustomer.creditcustomer.orderdate, etc., etc. (there are a ton of these indexes created using different field combinations.)

With MS-SQL, I can simply do a SELECT * WHERE WHATEVER...and the DB figures out the best index combination to use for me: I don't have to tell it which indexes to use. My question is this: Does the Progress DB do that as well, or do I have to tell it which indexes to use?

The example above is simple, in the real world the user may choose from hundreds of different combinations...I'm hoping I don't have to do the thinking for Progress DB.

TIA,

Rob

All Replies

Posted by Tim Kuehn on 24-Aug-2006 17:26

With MS-SQL, I can simply do a SELECT * WHERE WHATEVER...and the DB figures out the best index combination to use for me: I don't have to tell it which indexes to use. My question is this: Does the Progress DB do that as well, or do I have to tell it which indexes to use?

Progress will also figure out which indexes to use when run your query.

You may want to check out my query manager in the "Code share" section - it'll make constructing and managing your queries a lot easier.

And welcome to Progress!

Tim Kuehn

Posted by Thomas Mercer-Hursh on 24-Aug-2006 18:35

To expand a little on Tim's statement...