How to Integrate .NET Web Service Client with ABL

Posted by Admin on 01-Feb-2010 14:13

Hello Folks,

I am working on a project involving Web Services. I have worked on a few Web Services projects in .NET but I am a beginner in Progress Web Services. In my scenario the Web Service is written in C# (.NET). Some of the operations involve very complex data types. For example: Object A composes Object B, Object B composes Object C which is an array. After spending some time with OpenEdge® Development: Web Services tutorial I have learned:

• We have to Serialize/Deserialize SOAP Response/Request to get/send the data
  • Since we don't have a reference to the Web Service (as in .NET) we cannot make calls to functions and instantiate objects.

So after reading the tutorial I believe I have two solutions towards the implementation of this project:

1. Implement functionality to Deserialize/Serialize SOAP response/request
  2. Write a Web Service client in .NET and provide some sort of integration mechanism between ABL and .NET to read data.

Here's the concrete scenario for solution #2:

1. User requests for the list of images uploaded between Jan/01/2009 and Jan/01/2010. (ABL)
  2. The request is then sent to a .NET method which is responsible for executing the Web Service operation. (C# .NET)
  3. The Web Service sends back the list of image names that have been uploaded during the specified duration. (C# .NET)
  4. Now the data collected in step 3 (.NET) is passed on to ABL procedure which is responsible for spitting it out on a browser (ABL).

In the above example C# (.NET) is actually making calls to Web Service operations. The data collected after executing the operation in .NET is passed to ABL which then spits it out on a browser.

From my point-of-view solution #2 is a better approach since I could instantiate objects and call functions directly and use real data types. I don’t have to worry about Serialize/Deserialize SOAP messages.