How to call vb.net dll, passing multiple inputs and returnin

Posted by tromba99 on 17-Jul-2012 08:06

I am new to OpenEdge ABL and we use it as part of our Epicor ERP system.
I need a good step-by-step explanation or some clear examples of how to invoke in a ".p" program a vb.net dll that I have made which involves passing a few inputs and returning a few outputs.
If I were using this dll in a VB.net program, my call basically looks like this:

Imports GetPrice

Dim PriceInfoRec As PriceInfo = GetPrice.PriceInfo.GetNCSPrice(PriceYear, Part, OrderQty, PriceList, InvLang)

Where PriceInfo is a class which includes 4 properties. I need these 4 properties returned in the ".p" program.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as this is the last stubbling block in a big project for me.

All Replies

Posted by Admin on 17-Jul-2012 09:51

Which version of Progress?

GUI or TTY?

Posted by tromba99 on 17-Jul-2012 10:06

Which version of Progress?

The version is OpenEdge 10.2a and service Pack 3 has been applied.
GUI or TTY?
GUI

Posted by Admin on 17-Jul-2012 10:21

Then check the "GUI for .NET Developers Guide". That will tell you how to use .NET Assemblies from the ABL GUI client.

Although officially you should be on 10.2B02 to use non visual .NET components. But technically 10.2A should support it.

Posted by tromba99 on 17-Jul-2012 10:35

I have probably caused you some confusion with my last answer to your question about GUI or TTY.
We are not actually using any OpenEdge Development Tools at all to write the little bit of progress code we use for Epicor.
We have (with the help of consultants) written a few text based ".p" programs in what they used to call 4GL Progress to interact with our Product Configurators in Epicor.
Our consultant provided us with a PDF of a programming guide for OpenEdge 10 called "OpenEdge Development: Progress 4GL Reference", but it is very unclear and hard to follow.