Treeview parsing utility

Posted by tracylee3124 on 22-May-2013 18:57

I am new to Progress and ABL. I am trying to parse menu items into some sort of visual list showing how the menu is interconnected. We are thinking the treeview is our best bet. I am just an intern, but my trainer asked me to try and get this accomplished. I am using the 11.1 version of progress.

I have looked at a couple of options one of which is the pure4gltv found here: http://communities.progress.com/pcom/docs/DOC-2638

There was another one that used proparse, but it did not provide all of the files or clear documentation.

They were both written many years ago and I am not sure if the change in progress versions are causing me problems or what, but I am having issues.

Am I on the right track looking at these, or is there a newer or easier version that may be the smartest choice for my task.

Thanks a bunch!

Tracy

All Replies

Posted by Peter Judge on 23-May-2013 07:41

I am new to Progress and ABL. I am trying to parse menu items into some

sort of visual list showing how the menu is interconnected. We are

thinking the treeview is our best bet. I am just an intern, but my trainer

asked me to try and get this accomplished. I am using the 11.1 version of

progress.

Treeviews are good ways to visualise menu information.

I have looked at a couple of options one of which is the pure4gltv found

here: http://communities.progress.com/pcom/docs/DOC-2638

I would at least start with this, although you can also look into the OpenEdge GUI for .NET, if you're on at least 10.2B. That's a way to call .NET UI controls etc from the ABL, which may feel more comfortable/natural to you, depending on your background.

There was another one that used proparse, but it did not provide all of

the files or clear documentation.