OO ABL language enhancements / questions

Posted by Admin on 13-Aug-2008 05:11

Hello everybody. I'm new to OO ABL. I do have some OO experience (.Net C# and C++) and I expected that it would be easy to apply this knowledge in OO ABL. Unfortunately some things are a little different while others are missing. I there a place where I can learn what those difference exactly are?

Does any body now how to implement events in OO ABL? I have read that publish/subscribe cannot be used. In .Net I can do this:

class uiController

{

event EventHandler CurrentPageChanged;

protected virtual void OnCurrentPageChanged(EventArgs e)

{

if (CurrentPageChanged != null)

CurrentPageChanged(this, e);

}

}

This allows other classes to attach themselves to this event and respond to it whenever it occurs in the following way:

uiController.CurrentPageChanged += new EventHandler(onCurrentPageChanged);

Now, when from within the uiController class the virtual OnShapeChanged method is executed, all (if any) connected methods get executed.

This is a very useful mechanism to have several objects respond to state changes in each other. But reading the help files I think this is not (yet) possible?

Or is it? How do implement this kind of behaviour without going "back" to regular ABL?

ps. On another thread someone requested support for generics. That would certainly be appreciated.

All Replies

Posted by Admin on 13-Aug-2008 05:59

There's not (yet) such a feature like event support between classes.

Classes and procedures can subscribe to .NET events. If a class inherits from a .NET class, this is like the ABL class publishing this event.

Classes can PUBLISH to procedures (using the PUBLISH FROM SESSION:FIRST-PROCEDURE syntax).