Very basic issue I'm struggling with.

Posted by ojfoggin on 24-Jul-2009 09:12

I'm trying to write a basic window using .NET gui, mainly as a learning opportunity and to then start to create something a  bit more advanced.

My background is Java so the OO side of it is very familiar to me but I am struggling at the first hurdle.

Using a .NET Dialog I can access our AppServer and get things displayed and all that stuff but when I try to use a form it shouts at me whenever I try to display it.

The instantiating program is an ABL .w window and the code goes thus...

[on choose of BtnOK]

DEF VAR rForm AS CLASS MyForm NO-UNDO.

rForm = NEW MyForm(this-procedure).

This bit works fine but doesn't display anything.  If I then try this (either from the .NET class side or the instantiating procedure side)...

rDialog:VISIBLE = TRUE.

The window becomes visibIe but I get a message telling me that I have to use WAIT-FOR in the ABL and can't use anything else.

I just don't know what I need to WAIT-FOR...

WAIT-FOR rForm:????????? ( ).

Please can someone help?

Thanks!

Oliver

All Replies

Posted by Admin on 24-Jul-2009 09:19

WAIT-FOR rDialog:ShowDialog () .

might work. It may happen, that the WAIT-FOR statement in your main window (.w) file needs to be changed as well (the menu program, the only program which is not persistent). It should be

WAIT-FOR System.Windows.Forms.Application:Run ().

and to exit the Application (CLOSE OF THIS-PROCEDURE in the main .w file) you need to do

System.Windows.Forms.Application:Exit ().

.NET Controls need to run in a .NET message loop.

Posted by ojfoggin on 24-Jul-2009 09:29

YES!

Thank you!

At last I can run things in a non-modal way

The problem I was having was that I needed the System.Windows.Forms.Application:RUN(rForm).

I was using Application:RUN(rForm) and it couldn't compile it.

Thanks again!

Posted by Admin on 24-Jul-2009 09:32

ojfoggin schrieb:

I was using Application:RUN(rForm) and it couldn't compile it.