Your view of development: The journey of separation

Posted by jmls on 18-Mar-2010 05:52

This post has been created in response to the massive ongoing debate about OO performance, and some of the discussions within regarding M-S-E and PABLO etc etc.

I'm trying to throw away 20 years of thinking, some old some new. I want to pretend that I am a brand new ABL developer (mysteriously however, I know the language inside out, ABL, OO and .net) , and am asking for help and advice on this theoretical journey. I also going to be playing devil's advocate a lot of the time, but not actually say when Hopefully this will lead to a reasoned debate where new developers can understand the reasons for doing what we are doing, not just blindly following the latest trend of the year.

I have a requirement for a report that needs to run on a  scheduled basis, and ad-hoc as and when needed. This report has 2 options

1) Customer group to use. Customer Group is a table containing  a GUID and name. The CustomerGroupLink table holds the group guid and customer guid, which leads to the customer table

2) Date range to use (a char variable that is used to calculate a start / end date range. This could be "Yesterday" "Last week" "Last Quarter" etc

Basically the report is meant to look through all sales of items to these customers within the date range, and aggregate the figures together , summarising by customer and then totalling at the customer group.

Old way

======

15 years ago, we would create a window/dialog, put in a browser with a crud toolbar, and add a "run" button. The report itself would be an internal procedure, using the screen-values of the variables, or *gasp* parameters (v6, anyone ? :).

10 years ago, we would split the report from the UI, so that the report could be run without the UI

5 years ago, we would separate out the DB from the UI. and use temp-tables on the UI side, passing the TT back and forth

0 years ago I am really confused