PDSOE Database License - One Extent vs Multiple Extents

Posted by dbeavon on 18-Mar-2016 08:44

I would like to load some production data locally into my own PDSOE-licensed database on my workstation.  I have a big SSD and lots of space.  Performance will not be an issue (I expect I'll probably get better performance on my local SSD than what we have on the production EMC disk, even after many years of tuning - type II areas by size, etc).

I'm not a Progress DBA.  I'm more of an OE/ABL developer.

The production data lived on an HP-UX/IA64 server; it was already backed up and restored on a staging/development HP-UX/IA64 server and I already deleted half of the data to make sure it should only be in the 100-200 GB range.

But it turns out that getting data into a local database on my Windows workstation is not going smoothly.  It should be a *lot* easier than this...

I'm not sure why the dump/load has to be managed on a table-by-table and area-by-area and extent-by-extent basis.  What a lot of micro-management...

To make matters worse, I get half-way thru my binary load only for it to fail, telling me my variable-length extent has filled up and shutting down my database!  I do some research, find a way to enable large files for my variable-length extents, only to find that it won't let me.  So now I have to pre-allocate a ton of tiny 2GB "fixed" extents for each storage area, just to move over the data .  This is like a multi-day effort and I'm almost ready to go hire an OE DBA/expert to work on my laptop for me.