lkctr warnings

Posted by S33 on 21-Apr-2015 10:41

Hi --

I'm migrating an existing chui app from 9.1D on SCO OpenServer to 10.2B on RHEL. Things are going well, but... when exiting the app, I get 331 instances of:

warning - pcondb for db utps has lkctr -nnn (395)

where nnn increments from 1 to 331.

The message is not written to the .lg file.

I read KBase article 000026044, which indicates I can turn off the warnings via the -nolkctr startup client parameter. It also says the warning "usually does not affect runtime operations or data integrity."

I am wondering if any of you have any experience with this warning message? Should I be concerned and try to doggedly hunt down the root cause? If it usually does not affect ops or integrity, what does it unusually affect?

Advice appreciated in advance --

Jim Shepherd
Level 7 Group

All Replies

Posted by richt on 21-Apr-2015 14:48

I am a developer in the Progress ABL core language team.  This is a message indicating that an internal reference count has gotten out of sync.

Do you have code that can reliably reproduce this?  If so I could you open a call with technical support.  Many years ago we had issues with this

counter that proved to be benign and the issue was resolved.  We'll be glad to look into it again especially if you have a reproducible case.

-regards

richard tucker

Posted by S33 on 22-Apr-2015 07:48

It's 100% reproducible -- I get 331 instances every time I exit the app. The problem is that it's a fully developed app. I'll see if I can whittle it down to a manageable bit of code and/or something I can get into the sports db. Thanks --

Posted by richt on 22-Apr-2015 11:54

If you can that would be great, thanks

Posted by S33 on 22-Apr-2015 14:23