Export from progress to SQL server Database - Error messages

Posted by realityleak on 07-Mar-2014 04:18

Hi - I am a progress novice and have what is probably a really basic question.

We have a progress database as a standalone application and a whole load of SQl Server databases that rely on teh information in the progress system for more accurate information. We have OpenEdge driver 10.2B. I use a SQL DTS (becasue I am stuck on a SQL 2000 system(!)) to transfer the data.

The DTS normally works brilliantly. However, sometimes it seems that the progress database is allowing a user to enter a larger entry than the field size would suggest and I get error messages that state, for example:

[DataDirect][ODBC Progress OpenEdge Wire Protocol driver][OPENEDGE]Column X in table Y has value exceeding its max length or precision.
[DataDirect][ODBC Progress OpenEdge Wire Protocol driver] Error in row.

Is this a matter of the driver looking at the database and doing DQ checks before pumping the information across? Brilliant but irritating that the Progress system allows the inital entry.

If, in my DTS, I exclude a field, will the OpenEdge driver still look at the field for DQ checks before pumping uout a reduced dataset?

I hope I haven't rambled too much and that someone can answer. I have asked the system supplier and they were unsure.

Posted by Chandra Sekhar on 07-Mar-2014 04:42

Hi,

Progress database allows users to enter larger value than field size. Even though you have excluded the field, OpenEdge SQL validates length and reports an error.
You can fix the schema metadata using db utility.

And also you can restrict that (Don’t allow more than field size) by specifying startup  –checkwidth parameter.

Thanks and Regards,
Chandu

[collapse]
From: realityleak [mailto:bounce-realityleak@community.progress.com]
Sent: Friday, March 07, 2014 3:49 PM
To: TU.OE.RDBMS@community.progress.com
Subject: Export from progress to SQL server Database - Error messages