How many app servers and db servers would I need? 1000+ user

Posted by Admin on 19-Oct-2006 21:12

My company is migrating to RH Linux and OE10 from 9.1D. We have 24 MFG/PRO databases, 1000+ users, running character telnet connections to a remote db. Currenlty everything is on 2 IBM servers running HACMP (which doesn't work from IBM--junk) on RAID 1. Our plan is buy 2 apps servers and 1 db server connection to SAN using RAID10. How many app servers and db servers should I buy? How much memory does 1 user use up using character client, versus a .NET client? On top of all this will be load balancing architure. How can i best dictate what my company needs? I've been a practicing DBA for 3 years, and I'm not 100% sure as to what/how a app server works with db server on a SAN.

All Replies

Posted by Thomas Mercer-Hursh on 20-Oct-2006 12:20

Before someone can even guess at the answer, one needs to know a lot more about your user base and application. 1000 users who do one transaction an hour is a very different load than 1000 heads down order entry people.

Is your application written for AppServer now? Which state model?

Posted by Admin on 20-Oct-2006 14:25

Our application is currenlty MFG/PRO running character clients using remote telnet connections across N.A. I am going to have 24+ db's and over 1000+ users by 2008. We run batch jobs during the day that can do some heavy I/O since they are transaction based, and I'd say about 60% of our users query the db versus physically updating it. We are planning on moving toward a .NET interface as well, so we will be using both. (ie: 2 sets of source code is what i'm expecting). As for the number of transactions daily, a rough number is 200,000 per database.

Posted by Thomas Mercer-Hursh on 20-Oct-2006 14:31

So, if you are running ChUI, the current application isn't written for AppServer at all or you would have to upgrade to a new version (I don't know specifics on Mfg/Pro).