copy certain tables from Progress to MS SQL

Posted by Admin on 20-Jun-2008 15:19

I have the following thread and it was suggested I ask the question over here

http://www.psdn.com/library/thread.jspa?messageID=32873&#32873

I am having database issues with Progress and the application vendor doesn't want me to add indexes to the tables so that I can run the needed reports. My solution is to move the 11 needed tables to the a MS SQL database and index how ever I want. Problem is getting that data out of Progress. Since there is no index on date, I can't select off only records by date. I am now thinking about running an export on Progress for the 11 tables to a CSV file. I am not a Progress person so in the professional opinions here, what are my best choices? Using ODBC and a DTS transacation in SQL Server, moving the data is too slow. Will an export to a CSV be fast? How do I go about setting that up?

All Replies

Posted by Thomas Mercer-Hursh on 21-Jun-2008 10:57

As noted in the other thread....

You get 20 minutes to count 450K records.

I get 45 seconds to count 1.9M records.

This is not an indexing problem. This is a problem about the setup of the database in some way. If you only ever needed to do this once, moving the data to SQL Server could be one way to avoid having to fix the problem, but if this is an on-going requirement, you really would be better off addressing the issue directly instead of continuing to think about this as an export problem. If your tables all have less than a half million records, you may well not even need any indexes to have acceptable performance ... **if you fix the problem**

So,

1. Update statistics

2. Up the fetch limit on the ODBC connection

3. Find the start up parameters for the database and tell us what they are

4. Look at the performance on both boxes and tell us about CPU vs disk access at various stages.

5. Tell us about the Progress version, hardware configuration, etc.