(1154) No servers are available. Try again later.

Posted by Vienneau on 08-Jun-2010 16:25

This is my first post, so please forgive me if I do something wrong.
OpenEdge 10.2A02 on AIX 6.1.  CHUI environment.
The majority of the users connect directly to the application from the server.  We also added some web connections recently that I'm still learning how to manage/understand.  And we've had some long-time TCP connections.
Yesterday the TCP connection was failing and users got this error:
The server or the system has no more resources. Please contact Progress
The log file shows:
[2010/06/07@08:12:24.548-0400] P-1089760    T-1     I BROKER  0: (1154)  No servers are available.  Try again later.
The Progress "help" says:
In the shared memory model with networking, there are too many clients  
logged into the database, or there are too few servers for this database.
You can log in after another user logs out.  You might want to check the
-Mn PROGRESS parameter given to the PROGRESS controlling server or BROKER
(PROSERVE -Mn n) and raise the number of servers. 

-Mn was set to 9.
-n is set to 100.
I disconnected all the web users via promon (lacking a better alternative) but that didn't fix it.  There were far less than 100 connections.
In the end, I had to shut down the DB (mid-day - the users loved it) and bring it back up and that cleared everything.
But I don't really know what happened, or where to look for solutions.  Is it a hardware (shared) memory issue?  Does it relate to the SQL broker we added to handle the web connections?  I'm a bit lost and I haven't found a good summary of how the -Mn and -Mi and so on all interact and should be set.
If anyone has suggestions/ideas, I'd be very appreciative.
Matt

All Replies

Posted by Admin on 09-Jun-2010 00:48

You really should try asking this question of Tech Support - you're likely to get a faster answer.

However: