open Edge Data server for Oracle

Posted by Admin on 24-Jul-2008 01:26

Hi,

We have Open edge 10.1 A installed in our system.

I want to connect it with my Oracle database.

I have oracle 10g(10.1.2.0.2) installed in same system...

i am new to this... so dont know about connectin...

Is there any software required for that... also IS Open Edge data server software different from Open Edge data server software for Oracle?

is my version compatible?

What all software needs to be downloaded?

Please explain....

thanx in advance....

All Replies

Posted by Admin on 24-Jul-2008 01:30

I forgot to mention... i am working in windows XP environment...

Posted by Thomas Mercer-Hursh on 24-Jul-2008 11:01

A DataServer is a separately licensed product. If all you have is Workgroup or Enterprise Database license, then you don't have what you need to connect to Oracle.

Posted by Admin on 24-Jul-2008 22:59

so please tell me what all softwares do i require in order to connect with oracle...

Also which version of oracle is suitable?

Posted by Thomas Mercer-Hursh on 25-Jul-2008 11:16

The product is called DataServer for Oracle. Support for Oracle versions varies by Progress version.

Posted by Admin on 27-Jul-2008 19:50

Are you trying to read data from the Oracle database or the Progress database?

Which product will the application be developed in, and which will hold the data?

If it is a Progress application reading data out of an Oracle database, then the DataServer is required. However if it is an Oracle application trying to pull data out of a Progress database then you could use an ODBC link.

Posted by Admin on 27-Jul-2008 23:01

Hi guys,

Thanx for your reply... My open edge version is 10.1A... So Which version of oracle do i require???... I want to do both accessing Oracle database from progress as well as progress from oracle...

So can u please brief me required steps in doing both of the above mentioned....

Posted by Admin on 27-Jul-2008 23:13