kindly help me out wit internals of openedge RDBMS

Posted by Aravindhacks on 31-Jul-2013 08:30

Hey guys this is my first post in this forum and i'm new to Openedge database.

I need an information how the broker process allocates server and how communication is performed between broker and server?????

Thanks and regards...

All Replies

Posted by gus on 31-Jul-2013 10:30

When a broker is started, it listens for network logins over tcp/ip (ipv4 or ipv6) on the port number (or service name) specified by the -S configuration parameter. You can start more than one broker if you want, with different configuration parameters.

When a login request arrives, the broker either assigns the new client to an existing server process or starts a new server process and assigns the client to the the new server. The broker sends a reply message to the client telling it to which server it should connect. If there are no server processes with free slots and you are at the maximum number of server processes or maximum number of connections, then the login request is rejected. After the client receives the reply from the broker it terminates its connection with the broker and (assuming login was not rejected) connects to the specified server. After that, there is no further communication between client and broker. Communication between brokers and servers is via shared memory data and is infrequent.

There are also self-serving clients that combine the client and server into a single process. In those, client and server comminicate by means of subroutine calls instead of network messages.  To use those, the client must be executing on the same machine as the database. Self-serving clients are for 4GL only.