Multiple appservers per rest service

Posted by Elsworth Burmeister on 12-Sep-2016 04:52

Hi guys

Progress mobile consumes a rest service which is connected to one appserver and this appserver connects to one specific db. We have a situation where im trying to find the best practice or way forward to a solution that involves us having 1 mobile app that can serve many clients and each client having their own db. My solution to this is to have a a DB connected to the appserver on the rest service and this will authenticate the client and get their DB details.. I will store those details in a session storage variable on the mobile app and pass these details to the rest service every time they do an appserver hit to connect to that clients DB and retrieve the information accordingly. 

However this does not seem like the best solution.. Im new to the mobile developement and think there is a much easier way to do this.

any ideas or solutions?

TIA

All Replies

Posted by Brian K. Maher on 12-Sep-2016 05:04

or you can add on the multi-tenant functionality to the database.  That was designed for this.

Posted by bronco on 12-Sep-2016 05:11

Re-connecting every single call is a performance killer. Have you considered the multi-tenancy features of he OpenEdge database?

Posted by Elsworth Burmeister on 12-Sep-2016 05:24

Multi-tenant is not an option we have to use existing architecture and the DB's as they are.

Posted by Brian K. Maher on 12-Sep-2016 05:36

Well, good luck then.  I think you are going to love (hate) the connect/disconnect model.  Not scalable at all.

Posted by marian.edu on 12-Sep-2016 05:45

Don't even consider connect/disconnect on request, why can't you just have separate rest services one for each database set and then one entry point that can just keep references (service url's) of those so the client mobile all just get the 'service catalog' and the user will use one of the available rest services.

Posted by bronco on 12-Sep-2016 06:18